Find Oregon icon; Meet Oregon icon; Experience Oregon icon; Play Oregon icon Almanac Notable Oregonians Cultural exhibits FunStuff games and more

How do I...?


Facebook and e-mail icons Facebook Contact us

Home > State > Judicial > Oregon State Bar

Oregon State Bar > Web site

The rugged coast south of Gold Beach. (Photo courtesy Peter L. Stevens)

The rugged coast south of Gold Beach. (Photo courtesy Peter L. Stevens)

Established in 1935 to license and discipline lawyers, the Oregon State Bar is a large public corporation with diverse programs benefitting the public, lawyers, government and the courts. The state bar oversees the admission and discipline of Oregon’s lawyers. It also operates a lawyer referral service and Tel-Law program, conducts continuing legal education programs, publishes legal and public service material, sponsors a legislative program to improve the laws and judicial system of Oregon, provides malpractice coverage for lawyers in private practice, and funds and supports law-related and public service programs through the Oregon Law Foundation.

The Oregon State Bar is a full-service professional organization having regulatory, public


Board of Governors
Michael E. Haglund,
President, Portland, 2013; Tom Kranovich, President-Elect, Lake Oswego, 2014; Jenifer S. Billman, Public Member, Salem, 2014; Patrick Joseph Ehlers, Jr., Portland, 2014; Hunter B. Emerick, Salem, 2014; R. Ray Heysell, Medford, 2016; Matthew H. Kehoe, Hillsboro, 2014; Ethan D. Knight, Portland, 2013; Theresa M. Kohlhoff, Portland, 2015; Audrey T. Matsumonji, Public Member, Gresham, 2015; Caitlin J. Mitchel-Markley, McMinnville, 2016; Maureen Claire O’Connor, Public Member, Portland, 2013; Travis S. Prestwich, Salem, 2015; Joshua L. Ross, Portland, 2016; Richard G. Spier, Portland, 2015; and David Wade, Eugene, 2013; Charles A. Wilhoite, Public Member, Portland, 2016; Timothy L. Williams, Bend, 2016.


Sylvia Stevens, Executive Director
Address: 16037 SW Upper Boones Ferry Rd.,
PO Box 231935, Tigard 97281-1935
Phone: 503-620-0222; Toll-free: 1-800-452-8260
Fax: 503-684-1366